Filament‎ - BOX

Filament is the work of Otomo Yoshihide and Sachiko Matsubara (aka Sachiko M). Whilst both are former members of the exemplary Ground Zero, this work is a different beast. The Improvised Music from Japan site has a lovely summation of their work:

"Filament, a limitless laboratory for memory-free post-sampling music which has completely deconstructed sampling. Filament is important both as an answer to Ground Zero's extreme chopping and plunderphonics, and as a touchstone of post-techno experimental music."

For this five disc collection of live works, the term "memory-free" is absolutely key for me. It has a quite magical effect whereby whilst you are listening to forget that you are. When it stops, you can't quite remember what has just been said to you. But in the meantime, it completely declutters your mind of the daily nonsense that seems so important and actually allows real (personal) thought to come to the fore.

Released on F.M.N Sound Factory in 2004.

Disc 1
Disc 2
Disc 3
Disc 4
Disc 5


Anonymous,  29 June 2013 at 08:40  

pretty interesting!

Anonymous,  1 July 2013 at 06:28  

WOW! Great thanks!
All the Yoshihide's works is great strange music!
I Try it!